2019 Finalists for the Governor General's History Award for Excellence in Teaching

Twenty-five teachers from across Canada are being recognized for their exceptional work in teaching Canadian history.

Posted July 18, 2019

Canada’s History is pleased to announce this year’s shortlist for the Governor General’s History Awards for Excellence in Teaching. Through their unique projects, these 25 finalists demonstrate many best practices in history education, including creating authentic learning experiences, encouraging historical research and critical thinking, incorporating historical thinking concepts, and considering Indigenous perspectives and worldviews.

Established in 1996, the award honours six teachers for innovative approaches to teaching Canadian history. Teachers receive a cash prize of $2,500, an additional $1,000 for their school, and an all-expenses-paid trip for two to Ottawa to receive their award at the Governor General’s History Awards. The winners will be announced in the fall.

Congratulations to this year’s finalists!

Emilia Adorante

St. Elizabeth Catholic High School, Thornhill, ON

Trevor Arndt

Huntsville High School, Huntsville, ON

René Beaudoin

Collège Laflèche, Trois-Rivières, QC

Robert Bell

Dundas Central Public School, Dundas, ON

David Brian and Stephen Punga

ASCIS, Windsor, ON

Tienneke Calder, Maureen Kelly-Gibson, and Elizabeth Howie

Calgary Academy, Calgary, AB

Véronique Charlebois

Collège Héritage de Châteauguay, Châteauguay, QC

Heidi Crowley

Gray Academy, Winnipeg, MB

Kayla Dallyn and Genevieve Soler

Exshaw School, Exshaw, AB

Sarah Dewey

Leahurst College, Kingston, ON

Judette Dumel

École élémentaire publiques Gabrielle-Roy, Ottawa, ON

Dwayne Jeffery

Lloydminster Comprehensive High School, Lloydminster, AB

Heather Jefkins

Assiginack Public School, Manitowaning, ON

Martin Landry

Collège Regina Assumpta, Montréal, QC

Danita Lewis

Southgate Middle School, Campbell River, BC

Jean Moir

Noel Booth Elementary School, Langley, BC

Jean-Philippe Payer

L’Odyssée, Quebec, QC

Émilie Pelland

École secondaire Villa française des Jeunes, Elliot Lake, ON

Michael Pitblado and Agnieszka Chalas

Leahurst College, Kingston, ON

Anne Quesnelle

École Ste-Marie, Azilda, ON

Heather Ragot and Jock Martin

St. John’s-Ravenscourt School, Winnipeg, MB

Isabelle Roy and Ben Griffin

Miss Edgar’s and Miss Cramp’s School, Westmount, QC

Caelin Webber

Wapanohk Community School, Thompson, MB

Bridget Wright

Strathclair Community School, Strathclair, MB

Leanne Young

Orillia Secondary School, Orillia, ON

This article is also available in French.

Related to Awards