2020 Governor General's History Award Recipients

Canadians recognized for their dedication and desire to keep history alive.

Posted November 15, 2020

They are the storytellers of history — enthralling and engaging Canadians everywhere as they explore our country’s past. From teachers, authors, and scholars to curators, community volunteers, and more, these history champions bring context and clarity to the past, and inspire us all to learn more about Canada and its many peoples.

Canada’s National History Society is proud to introduce the 2020 recipients of the Governor General’s History Awards — an annual recognition of the achievements of individuals and organizations that make our past relevant, empowering, and accessible.

Congratulations to this year’s recipients!

Excellence in Community Programming

Presented by Canada’s History

Excellence in Museums: History Alive!

Presented by the Canadian Museums Association with the support of Ecclesiastical Insurance

Scholarly Research

Presented by the Canadian Historical Association 

Excellence in Teaching

Presented by Canada’s History

Popular Media: The Pierre Berton Award

Presented by Canada’s History

Related to Awards