2021 Finalists for the Governor General's History Award for Excellence in Teaching

Thirteen teachers from across Canada are being recognized for their exceptional work in teaching Canadian history.

Posted August 26, 2021

Canada’s History is pleased to announce this year’s shortlist for the Governor General’s History Awards for Excellence in Teaching. Through their unique projects, these 13 finalists demonstrate many best practices in history education, including creating authentic learning experiences, encouraging historical research and critical thinking, incorporating historical thinking concepts, and considering Indigenous perspectives and worldviews.

Established in 1996, the award honours six teachers for innovative approaches to teaching Canadian history. The winners will be announced in the fall.

Congratulations to this year’s finalists!

Mark Perry

Hampton High School, Hampton, New Brunswick

Jean-Pierre Bélanger

Collège Clarétain, Victoriaville, Quebec

Judette Dumel

École intermédiaire publique Louis-Riel, Ottawa, Ontario

Kevin Péloquin

Collège Saint-Hilaire, Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Quebec

Kelly Hiebert

Westwood Collegiate, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Janet Csontos

Scarborough Centre for Alternative Studies, Toronto, Ontario

Denise LeBlanc

École du Grand-Pavois de Saint-Yves, Rimouski, Quebec

Michel Blades

Ranch Learning Center, Lamont, Alberta

Kelly Barnum

Nanaimo District Secondary School, Nanaimo, British Columbia

Jackie Cleave

Laura Secord School, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Randall Keast

Georgetown District High School, Georgetown, Ontario

Katie Tressel

Brookswood Secondary, Langley, British Columbia

Shannon Leggett

Brockton School, North Vancouver, British Columbia

You could win a free book!

Sign up for any of our newsletters and be eligible to win one of many book prizes available.

Related to Awards