2023 Governor General's History Award Recipients

Canada’s most prestigious history prize celebrates the achievements of history teachers, scholars, authors, community groups, and museums.
Posted November 13, 2023

They are teachers, volunteers, authors, broadcasters and museum professionals from across Canada who share a vision and passion for history — and for making a difference in their communities.

Canada’s History Society is honoured to announce the recipients of the 2023 Governor General’s History Awards — the country’s most prestigious history prize.

Congratulations to this year’s recipients!

Excellence in Community Programming

Presented by Canada’s History

Excellence in Museums: History Alive!

Presented by the Canadian Museums Association with the support of Ecclesiastical Insurance 

Scholarly Research

Presented by the Canadian Historical Association 

  • Serpent River Resurgence: Confronting Uranium Mining at Elliot Lake
    Lianne C. Leddy
    Waterloo, Ontario

Excellence in Teaching

Presented by Canada’s History

Popular Media: The Pierre Berton Award

Presented by Canada’s History

Related to Awards