2022 Recipient of the Governor General's History Award for Scholarly Research

In addition to this award, several other awards were bestowed to historians from across Canada.

Written by Canada’s History

Posted May 18, 2022

Benjamin Hoy wins top prize for academic writing in Canadian history for his book A Line of Blood and Dirt: Creating the Canada-United States Border across Indigenous Lands published by Oxford University Press in 2021.

The award is presented annually by the Canadian Historical Association to the non-fiction work of Canadian history judged to have made the most significant contribution to an understanding of the Canadian past.

This year’s announcement ceremony took place online as part of the 2022 Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences.

Four other academics were shortlisted for the Scholarly Research prize (in alphabetical order):

The CHA announced the winner of its other major annual prize. Mennonite Farmers. A Global History of Place and Sustainability by Royden Loewen won the Ferguson Prize for outstanding scholarly work in a field of history outside of Canadian history.

Numerous other awards were also handed out at the CHA ceremony, including:

CHR Best Article Prize

Winner: Eric Story, « The Indigenous Casualties of War: Disability, Death, and the Racialized Politics of Pensions, 1914-39 ». Volume 102, issue 2, pp. 279-304.

The Canadian Historical Review's Best Article Prize is awarded to the best article published in the journal in the previous volume year, as selected by the Advisory Board and the editors.

Canadian Committee on Labor History

Best Article Prize

Winner: Peter Campbell, “Let Us Rise: Dialectical Thinking, the Commodification of Labour Power, and the Legacy of the Socialist Party of Canada,” Labour/Le Travail 87 (Spring 2021): 93–120.

Eugene A. Forsey Prize For Graduate Student Dissertation Prize

Winner: Kassandra L. Luciuk, “Making Ukrainian Canadians:  Identity, Politics, and Power in Cold War Canada,” Ph.D. dissertation, University of Toronto, 2021.

Canadian Committee on Migration, Ethnicity and Transnationalism Article Prize

Winner: Jelena Golubovic, “Beyond Agency as Good: Complicity and Displacement after the Siege of Sarajevo.” Journal of Refugee Studies (2021): 1-20". 

The Neil Sutherland Article Prize on history of Children and Youth

Winner: Antoine Burgard, “Contested Childhood: Assessing the Age of Young Refugees in the Aftermath of the Second World War,” History Workshop 92 (2021).

Best Article Prize on the History of Sexuality

Winner: Belinda Deneen Wallace, “Our Lives: Scribal Activism, Intimacy, and Black Lesbian Visibility in 1980s Canada. Journal of Canadian Studies 54, 2-3 (Spring 2020): 334-359.

Best Book Prize of the Network in Canadian History & Environment

Winner: Brittany Luby, Dammed: The Politics of Loss and Survival in Anishinaabe Territory (Winnipeg: University of Manitoba Press.

Canadian Committee on Women’s and Gender History — Hilda Neatby Prize

Winner of the French Language Article

Jean-Philippe Garneau, « La tutelle des enfants mineurs au Bas-Canada : autorité domestique, traditions juridiques et masculinités », Revue d'histoire de l'Amérique française, volume 74, No. 4, Printemps 2021, p. 11-35. 

Winner of the English Language Article

Willeen Keough, "Newfoundland Landsmen Sealing: Interrogating the Limits of Ecomasculinity in the Late 20th and Early 21st Centuries," Acadiensis 50, 2 (Autumn 2021): 155-183.

Best English-Language Book Prize

Winner: Joan Sangster, Demanding Equality. One Hundred Years of Canadian Feminism. University of British Columbia Press, 2021.

Political History Group

Best English-Language Article Prize

Winner: Daniel Manulak, “’An African Representative’: Canada, the Third World, and South African Apartheid, 1984-1990,” The Journal of Imperial and Commonwealth History  (June 2021), 1-32.

Book Prize

Winner: Benjamin Hoy, A Line of Blood and Dirt: Creating the Canada-United States Border across Indigenous Lands. Oxford University Press.

Canadian Business History Association

Best Article Prize

Winner: Michel Dahan, « « Tout le monde voyage » : l’agence Hone & Rivet et les débuts de l’industrie touristique au Canada (1894–1939). » (Volume 102, numéro 3, septembre 2021, 365-389).

Indigenous History Prizes

Best Article Prize

Cody Groat & Kim Anderson, “Holding Place: Resistance, Reframing, and Relationality in the Representation of Indigenous History”. The Canadian Historical Review, Volume 102, Issue 3.

Daniel Macfarlane & Andrea Olive, “Whither Wintego: Environmental Impact Assessment and Indigenous Opposition in Saskatchewan’s Churchill River Hydropower Project in the 1970.” The Canadian Historical Review, Volume 102, Issue 4.

Best Book Prize

Helen Olsen Agger, Dadibaajim : Returning Home through Narrative. University of Manitoba Press.

Daniel Rück, The Laws and the Land: The Settler Colonial Invasion of Kahnawake in Nineteenth-Century Canada. UBC Press.

CHA PRIZES / Prix de la SHC

John Bullen Prize

Honours the outstanding Ph.D. thesis on a historical topic submitted in a Canadian university by a Canadian citizen or permanent resident.

Winner: Colin Murray Osmond, “Paycheques and Paper Promises: Coast Salish and Mi’kmaw Work and Family Life under Canadian Settler Colonialism,” PhD dissertation, University of Saskatchewan, 2021. 

Prix Jean-Marie-Fecteau Prize

For best article published in a peer-reviewed journal by a PhD or Masters-level student in English or in French.

Winner: Roxanne L. Korpan, "Scriptural Relations: Colonial Formations of Anishinaabemowin Bibles in Nineteenth-Century Canada," Material Religion 17, no. 2 (2021): 147-176.

CHA Teaching Awards

Early or Alternative Career Award - Canadian History

Winner: Funké Aladejebi

Open State Career Award - Canadian History

Winner: Benjamin Hoy

Clio Prizes

For meritorious publications or for exceptional contributions by individuals or organizations to regional history.

Atlantic Region

Winner: Ruth Compton Brouwer,  All Things in Common: A Canadian Family and Its Island Utopia.  University of Toronto Press, 2021.


Winner: Catherine Larochelle, L’école du racisme. La construction de l’altérité à l’école québécoise (1830-1915). Les Presses de l’Université de Montréal.


Winner: Helen Olsen Agger, Dadibaajim: Returning Home Through Narrative. University of Manitoba Press.

The Prairies

Winner: Allyson D. Stevenson, Intimate Integration: A History of the Sixties Scoop and the Colonization of Indigenous Kinship. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2021.

British Columbia

Winner: Robert A.J. McDonald, A Long Way to Paradise. A New History of British Columbia Politics. University of British Columbia Press.

Wallace K. Ferguson Prize

Awarded to outstanding scholarly book in a field of history other than Canadian history.

Short list in alphabetical order

Winner: Royden Loewen, Mennonite Farmers. A Global History of Place and Sustainability. Johns Hopkins University Press / University of Manitoba Press.


Related to Awards