2020 Finalists for the Governor General's History Award for Excellence in Teaching

Sixteen teachers from across Canada are being recognized for their exceptional work in teaching Canadian history.

Posted August 26, 2020

Canada’s History is pleased to announce this year’s shortlist for the Governor General’s History Awards for Excellence in Teaching. Through their unique projects, these 16 finalists demonstrate many best practices in history education, including creating authentic learning experiences, encouraging historical research and critical thinking, incorporating historical thinking concepts, and considering Indigenous perspectives and worldviews.

Established in 1996, the award honours six teachers for innovative approaches to teaching Canadian history. The winners will be announced in the fall.

Congratulations to this year’s finalists!

Kristian Basaraba

Salisbury Composite High School, Sherwood Park, AB

Tienneke Calder and Maureen Kelly-Gibson

Calgary Academy, Calgary, AB

Ian Duncan

Garth Webb Secondary School, Oakville, ON

Christina Ganev

East York Collegiate Institute, Toronto, ON

Marjorie Gil

De la Volière, St-Colomban, QC

Tommy Guénard

Centre matapédien d’études collégiales, Amqui, QC

Francis Lalande

Collège Citoyen, Lavel, QC

Dominique Laperle

Pensionnat du Saint-Nom-de-Marie, Montréal, QC

Rémi Lavoie

Paul-Hubert, Rimouski, QC

David Lynch

St. Michaels University School, Senior School, Victoria, BC

Dawn Martens

Buchanan Park Public School, Hamilton, ON

Marie-Claude Monette

Collège Citoyen, Laval, QC

Matthew Ogilvie

JMA Armstrong High School, Salisbury, NB

Aicha Salah

JMA Armstrong High School, Salisbury, NB

Nathan Tidridge

Waterdown District High School, Waterdown, ON

Chris Young

Kelvin High School, Winnipeg, MB

Skip social share links

Related to Awards