2019 Recipient of the Governor General's History Award for Scholarly Research

In addition to this award, several other awards were bestowed to historians from across Canada.

Written by Canada’s History

Posted June 4, 2019

Shirley Tillotson wins top prize for academic writing in Canadian history for her book Give and Take: The Citizen-Taxpayer and the Rise of Canadian Democracy published by UBC Press in 2017.

The award is presented annually by the Canadian Historical Association to the non-fiction work of Canadian history judged to have made the most significant contribution to an understanding of the Canadian past.

This year’s announcement ceremony took place in Vancouver as part of the 2019 Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences.

Four other academics were shortlisted for the Scholarly Research prize (in alphabetical order):

The CHA announced the winner of its other major annual prize. Barbed-Wire Imperialism: Britain’s Empire of Camps, 1876–1903 by Aidan Forth won the Ferguson Prize for outstanding scholarly work in a field of history outside of Canadian history.

Numerous other awards were also handed out at the CHA ceremony, including:

Canadian Committee on Labor History

Best Article Prize

Winner: Robert Tremblay, « La grève générale des charpentiers-menuisiers de Montréal, 1833–1834: réévaluation d’un acte fondateur autour du concept de légitimité » Labour / Le Travail, volume 81, Spring 2018.

Eugene A. Forsey Prize For Graduate Student Dissertation Prize

Winner: Sean Antaya, “Struggling for a New Left: The New Tendency, Autonomist Marxism, and Rank-and-File Organizing in Windsor, Ontario during the 1970s” MA Thesis, Trent University, 2018.

Canadian Committee on Migration, Ethnicity and Transnationalism Article Prize

Winner: Laurie K. Bertram, “‘Eskimo’ Immigrants and Colonial Soldiers: Icelandic Immigrants and the North-West Resistance, 1885”, Canadian Historical Review, 99, no. 1, 2018.

Canadian Committee on Women’s History — Hilda Neatby Prize

Winners of the French Language Article

Denyse Baillargeon, Josette Brun & Estelle Lebel, « J’vois pas pourquoi j’travaillerais pas » : le travail salarié des femmes mariées à l’émission télévisée Femme d’aujourd’hui (Société Radio-Canada, 1965–1982) Recherches féministes, volume 30, no. 2, 2018.

Winner of the English Language Article

Karen Flynn, “‘Hotel Refuses Negro Nurse:’ Gloria Clarke Baylis and the Queen Elizabeth Hotel”. Canadian Bulletin of Medical History, volume 35, no. 2, 2018.

Political History Group

Best French-Article Prize

Winner: Paul-Étienne Rainville, « Au nom de l'ordre ou de la liberté ? Le Congrès juif canadien face à la répression des libertés civiles et des droits des minorités religieuses au Québec (1945–1954) » Canadian Historical Review, volume 99, no. 2, 2018.

Book Prize

Winner: Michael Dawson, Selling Out or Buying In?: Debating Consumerism in Vancouver and Victoria, 1945–1985. University of Toronto Press.

Public History Group

Best Project Prize

Winner: Aanischaaukamikw, Cree Cultural Institute “Footprints: A Walk through Generations.”

Canadian Business History Association

Book Prize

Winner: Michael Stamm, Dead Tree Media: Manufacturing the Newspaper in Twentieth-Century North America. John Hopkins University Press, 2018.

Indigenous History Prizes

Best Book Prize

Winners: Mary Jane Logan McCallum & Adele Perry, Structures of Indifference: An Indigenous Life and Death in a Canadian City. University of Manitoba Press, 2018.

CHA PRIZES / Prix de la SHC

Prix Jean-Marie-Fecteau Prize

For best article published in a peer-reviewed journal by a PhD or Masters-level student in English or in French.

Winner: Edward Dunsworth, “Race, Exclusion, and Archival Silences in the Seasonal Migration of Tobacco Workers from the Southern United States to Ontario” Canadian Historical Review, volume 99, no. 4, December 2018.

John Bullen Prize

Honours the outstanding Ph.D. thesis on a historical topic submitted in a Canadian university by a Canadian citizen or permanent resident.

Winner: Stephen Fielding, “Sporting Multiculturalism: Toronto’s Postwar European Immigrants, Gender, Diaspora, and the Grassroots Making of Canadian Diversity.” PhD dissertation, University of Victoria, 2018.

Clio Prizes

For meritorious publications or for exceptional contributions by individuals or organizations to regional history.

Atlantic Region

Winner: Patrick Mannion, A Land of Dreams: Ethnicity, Nationalism and the Irish in Newfoundland, Nova Scotia and Maine, 1880–1923.. McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2018.


Winner: Nicole Neatby, From Old Quebec to La Belle Province. Tourism Promotion, Travel Writing, and National Identities, 1920–1967. McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2018.


Winner: Steven High, One Job Town: Work, Belonging and Betrayal in Northern Ontario. University of Toronto Press, 2018.

The Prairies

Winners: Valerie Korinek, Prairie Fairies: A History of Queer Communities and People in Western Canada, 1930–1985.. University of Toronto Press, 2018.

British Columbia

Winner: Daniel Marshall, Claiming the Land: British Columbia and the Making of a New Eldorado. Ronsdale Press, 2018.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner (Prairies): Gerald Friesen

Winner (British Columbia): Hamar Foster

Wallace K. Ferguson Prize

Awarded to outstanding scholarly book in a field of history other than Canadian history.

Short list in alphabetical order

Winner: Aidan Forth, Barbed-Wire Imperialism: Britain’s Empire of Camps, 1876-1903. University of California Press, 2018.

Skip social share links

Related to Awards