2018 finalists for the Governor General’s History Award for Excellence in Teaching

Twenty-five teachers from across Canada are being recognized for their exceptional work in teaching Canadian history. 

June 20, 2018

Canada’s History is pleased to announce this year’s shortlist for the Governor General’s History Awards for Excellence in Teaching. Through their unique projects, these 25 finalists demonstrate many best practices in history education, including creating authentic learning experiences, encouraging historical research and critical thinking, incorporating historical thinking concepts, and considering Indigenous perspectives and worldviews.

Established in 1996, the award honours six teachers for innovative approaches to teaching Canadian history. Teachers receive a cash prize of $2,500, an additional $1,000 for their school, and an all-expenses-paid trip for two to Ottawa. There, they will receive their award from Her Excellency, the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada at Rideau Hall. The winners will be announced in the fall.

Canada’s History would like to thank all the applicants who shared their work with us, as well as the many teachers, administrators, students and parents who nominated a teacher for this year’s award.

Congratulations to this year’s finalists!

Mathieu Beauséjour, Collège Saint-Sacrement, Montréal , QC

Jean-Pierre Bélanger, Collège Clarétain, Victoriaville, QC

Karen Randall Blancher, Napanee District Secondary School, Napanee, ON

Éric Chassé, École Internationale Lucille-Teasdale, St-Hubert, QC

Michael Diluccio, Markville Secondary School, Vaughan, ON

Temma Frecker, The Booker School, New Minas, NS

Jean-François Gosselin, École Marcelle-Mallet, Québec, QC

Kerri-Lee Hewlett, Canterbury High School, Chelsea, QC

Maxine Hildebrandt, Mother Earth's Children's Charter School, Devon, AB and
Lisl Gunderman, Wildwood School, Wildwood, AB

Lisa Howell, Pierre Elliott Trudeau Elementary School, Gatineau, QC

Christina Iorio, St. Augustine Catholic High School, Richmond Hill, ON

Warren Lake, Robert Thirsk High School, Calgary AB

Rémi Lavoie, École Paul-Hubert, Rimouski, QC

Danita Lewis, Southgate Middle School, Comox, BC

Mercedes Luby, Leary's Brook Junior High, St. John's, NL

Matthew McCutcheon and Ryan Bucci, Eastern Passage Education Centre, Dartmouth, NS

Sara McFarlane, École LeMarchant St. Thomas School, Halifax, NS

Jean Moir, Langley Meadows Community School, Langley, BC

Mboyo Onehese, École secondaire publique De La Salle, Ottawa, ON

Michelle Park, Corner Brook Regional High, Corner Brook, NL

Karen Parfitt, Bracebridge and Muskoka Lakes Secondary School, Baysville, ON

Paul Paterson, Westmount Secondary School, Ridgeville, ON

Denee Repski and Justin Harrison, Campbell Collegiate, Regina, SK

Eve Seni, Pierre Elliott Trudeau High School, Toronto, ON

Karine St-Cyr, École de la Rose-des-Vents, Rimouski, QC

Skip social share links

Related to Awards